Program details are in English. Page labels are translated.
Bridging program
Transition to Practice for Nurses (TTPN) and IEN courses
Ontario colleges through OntarioLearn
Online college courses for internationally educated nurses, including TTPN, which meets CNO's transition-to-practice requirement.
Good for: I am already a nurse from another country. What should I do before paying for another degree?
Checked How we check information
At a glance
- Delivery
- Hybrid
- Cost
- Confirm cost with provider
- Who can access it
- Not stated.
- Intake
- Ongoing enquiries or individual applications
The transition-to-practice course has no clinical component.
01 / Start here
Your first steps
- Search NURS1137 on OntarioLearn and choose a participating college.
- Check your CNO letter for any additional courses.
Courses run with set start and end dates through participating colleges.
Visit provider ↗ (opens in a new tab)02 / Check the fit
Requirements and limits
- Internationally educated applicants meet CNO's transition-to-practice requirement by completing one approved course, unless already registered as a nurse elsewhere in Canada.
- Some IENs also need further courses and a 400-hour clinical preceptorship, which is separate from this course.
Not stated.
Important limits and details to confirm
- The transition-to-practice course has no clinical component.
- No credential is issued; the college provides an academic record.
- A French TTPN is available; a French course for the substantially equivalent pathway was expected in spring 2026.
Location
- Ontario; online.
03 / Understand the commitment
Costs and possible funding
Course fees set by the delivering college.
No specific funding verified.
04 / Check with the provider
Sources and where to get help
Use the provider’s official starting page to ask about your situation. Published information was checked on October 24, 2026; the provider must confirm current availability and personal eligibility.