Program details are in English. Page labels are translated.
Licensing route
Ontario teacher certification — internationally educated teachers
Ontario College of Teachers (OCT)
Certification with the Ontario College of Teachers, required to teach in publicly funded Ontario schools.
Good for: I have a degree and am interested in becoming a teacher.
Checked How we check information
At a glance
- Delivery
- Online
- Cost
- Confirm cost with provider
- Who can access it
- Not stated on the pages reviewed.
- Intake
- Ongoing enquiries or individual applications
Applications expire after one year; reapplying means a new fee and the rules in force at that time.
01 / Start here
Your first steps
- Read the registration guide for your teaching category.
- Request documents using the country-specific instructions, then apply when everything is ready.
Individual applications; the College processes internationally educated applications within 60 days of a complete file.
Visit provider ↗ (opens in a new tab)02 / Check the fit
Requirements and limits
- At least a three-year postsecondary degree.
- Completion of a four-semester teacher education program.
- Language requirements if teacher education was not in English or French.
- Sexual Abuse Prevention Program before certification.
Not stated on the pages reviewed.
Important limits and details to confirm
- Applications expire after one year; reapplying means a new fee and the rules in force at that time.
- Shorter teacher education may require further study before certification.
Location
- Ontario; can apply from abroad.
03 / Understand the commitment
Costs and possible funding
Application and annual fees on OCT's Fees and Payments page.
No specific funding verified.
04 / Check with the provider
Sources and where to get help
Use the provider’s official starting page to ask about your situation. Published information was checked on October 23, 2026; the provider must confirm current availability and personal eligibility.